Medical Departments at a glance

The Uniklinik RWTH Aachen is home to approximately 40 (multidisciplinary) departments. More than 6,000 employees
work here – some 900 physicians among them – to restore the health of our patients. The multi-professional team of
each department includes professors, medical specialists and nurses. Social workers, speech therapists, psychologists
and nurses with additional qualifications in fields such as wound management or breast care are also available
depending on the area of expertise required. Central services such as physiotherapy and transfusion medicine support
treatment in the departments. The institutes of microbiology, immunology, virology, clinical chemistry, pathology and
neuropathology ensure the highest diagnostic standards.

On the following pages, we introduce the departments that have been successfully treating international patients
for many years now. The departments not described in detail here are no less remarkable. More detailed information
about the services from all departments is available on the website of the Uniklinik RWTH Aachen or from the
International Office. You will find contact information at the end of the brochure.


Specialist departments at the Uniklinik RWTH Aachen:

Cardiac and Thoracic SurgeryProf. Dr. med. Rüdiger Autschbach
Cardiology, Angiology and Intensive Care (Internal Medicine I)Prof. Dr. med. Nikolaus Marx
Gastroenterology, Hepatology, Metabolic Disorders and Intensive Care (Internal Medicine III)Prof. Dr. med. Christian Trautwein
– Section for Endocrinology and Diabetology (Internal Medicine III)Prof. Dr. med. Wolfram Karges
General, Visceral and Transplant SurgeryProf. Dr. med. Ulf P. Neumann
Gynaecology and ObstetricsProf. Dr. med. Elmar Stickeler
Haematology, Oncology, Haemostaseology and Stem Cell Transplantation (Internal Medicine IV)Prof. Dr. med. Tim H. Brümmendorf
Kidney and Blood Pressure Diseases, Rheumatological and Immune Diseases (Internal Medicine II)Prof. Dr. med. Jürgen Floege
NeurologyProf. Dr. med. Jörg B. Schulz
NeurosurgeryProf. Dr. med. Hans Clusmann
OphthalmologyProf. Dr. med. Peter Walter
Oral and Maxillofacial SurgeryProf. Dr. med. Dr. med. dent. Frank Hölzle
Orthopaedic SurgeryProf. Dr. med. Markus Tingart
Orthopaedic Trauma and Reconstructive SurgeryProf. Dr. med. Frank Hildebrand, MHBA
Otorhinolaryngology and Plastic Head and Neck SurgeryProf. Dr. med. Martin Westhofen
Paediatric and Adolescent MedicineProf. Dr. med. Norbert Wagner
– Section for Neuropaediatrics and Social PaediatricsProf. Dr. med. Martin Häusler
– Section for NeonatologyProf. Dr. med. Thorsten Orlikowsky
– Section for Paediatric Haematology, Oncology and Stem Cell TransplantationProf. Dr. med. Udo Kontny
Paediatric CardiologyProf. Dr. med. Gunter Kerst
Plastic Surgery, Hand and Burn SurgeryProf. Dr. med. Justus P. Beier
Pneumology and Intensive Care (Internal Medicine V)Prof. Dr. med. Michael Dreher
UrologyProf. Dr. med. Thomas-Alexander Vögeli
Vascular SurgeryProf. Dr. med. Michael Jacobs

For a complete list please follow this link.